Your Email Address:

First Name:

Tongue coating causing bad breath after antibiotics for tonsillitis

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
jackfox
Total Newbie
Tongue coating causing bad breath after antibiotics for tonsillitis

Post by jackfox »

Hey guys, back in August this year i had really bad tonsillitis (due to a few days of heavy drinking) and the doctor prescribed me penicillin, which i'd had before, and a much stronger drug metronidazole, which i'd never had before. Within 48 hours the tonsillitis had basically gone but i was told to keep taking the antibiotics until they were finished, which i did.

After i'd finished both courses of antibiotics i noticed that i had a lot of mucus etc stuck in the back of my throat, and then a few days later i noticed that my uvula and roof of my mouth had tuned a yellowish colour and there was a whitey/yellowish/grey layer on my tongue - which did smell. I went back to the doctors and they thought it might be oral thrush so prescribed me medication for that however that never did anything. They then took swabs and then came back confirming that it wasn't a fungal infection.

A long with the tongue coating that smells, I've had constant mucus in the back of my throat and mild flu symptoms which hasn't been great. I've been prescribed nasal sprays for the this but they don't seem to be working too well. I've also been prescribed mouthwashes for the tongue coating but they have been no use. I scrape my tongue 2-3 times daily, and some of the coating comes off but there's a underlying layer that will not come off- worse at the back of the tongue. After eating, some foods will get stuck on my tongue, and there are sometimes small tonsil stones. I've been back to the doctors and they think it might just be that it's taking a long time for my immune system and bacteria to get back to normal from the antibiotics i had for tonsillitis?