Your Email Address:

First Name:

My journey

Tell us your story with bad breath
Rhaegar
Total Newbie

My journey

Post by Rhaegar »

First of all, english is not even my second language, so forgive my grammar.

This thread will be a blog type, i will try different stuff and report here how have they worked.

So, for the backround, BB started when i was around 17. Mouth did not feel fresh and i was paranoid talking with people face to face, so i chewed gum all the time. First real clue was when we had a field trip to a local factory and we were told to wear a respiratory mask. I wasn’t able to wear this over couple of minutes because air in there turned really bad. I did not care much about this, even though i got some comments from here and there. Right now i am 22 years old. I test my breath with different methods, i use the classic lick test and cotton swab test and if i have the time i put a surgical mask and take deep breaths. After couple of minutes i can tell how bad my breath is, I have found it to be in correlation with lick and cotton test, when my saliva smells sour and i have yellow/greysh gunk on a cotton, then the air in surgical mask will be foul. According to reactions and everything, i have ONLY MOUTH ODOR. I think i dont have BB all the time and my BB is not very strong and can be smelled from close distance, but this has made me very paranoid and halitophobic, I avoid close interactions even when i feel fresh.

Symptoms:
White dots on tongue which are really hard to scrape off, but they smell foul and when they are removed i dont have BB

When i eat sugary foods etc i get really sour feeling in my mouth, i get same sour or foul feeling when i am brushing with regular cheap toothpaste. Same goes with cigarettes and alcohol.(Interesting is that my parents have also BB after brushing their teeth)