Your Email Address:

First Name:

How my quest to cure bad breath almost killed me

Tell us your story with bad breath
umbongo
Total Newbie
How my quest to cure bad breath almost killed me

Post by umbongo »

I've had BB since I was a teenager but only in recent years had I begun to notice a strange sensation in my throat and very occasional tonsil stones coming out when coughing or talking. Gross. These things smell awful. I finally felt I had to do something about it as it was seriously affecting my life and confidence in social situations. I told my doctor who suggested gargling salt water. Yea... That wasn't going to cure it so I went private to a different surgeon who stuck a camera down my throat and saw no signs of any tonsil stones but reluctantly agreed to perform a tonsillectomy to see if it helped the discomfort in my throat.

In May I had the operation. I woke up, drowsy with a painful throat but everything was fine. The surgeon afterwards came by my bed and told me how surprised he was at the state of my tonsils. They were covered in tonsil stones. "Great", I thought. "I've made the right decision". I was discharged that day and sent home with some nice pain meds to recover for a couple of weeks and then carry on with my life.