First Name:

My Cure - Wisdom Teeth Removal

Tell us your story with bad breath
vman
Total Newbie

My Cure - Wisdom Teeth Removal

Post by vman »

Hey guys,

I just recently found this site while browsing around before the night before my surgery to remove my wisdom teeth (Thursday Jan. 15th, 2009). With that said, I was very optimistic about this procedure after reading Cured and Humbled's post about wisdom teeth leading to the cure of their bad breath. For about two years now I have had a foul odor coming from my bottom left gum all the way towards the back of my bite. This odor would invade my mouth and give me the worst breath ever! The location of the smell was actually the site of my impacted wisdom tooth.

Finally last week I decided to visit the dentist to get rid of this smell, which I suspected might be a rotten wisdom tooth from the get go. I am very outgoing, have had multiple relationships during the time I had BB so going into the dentist and simply saying "my breath smells like shit, and here is the source" was very easy for me. By the way, I encourage you all to do the same. These professionals see, smell and hear worse things on a daily basis and you should not be embarrassed of letting them know your condition! Anyways, if I would simply rub my finger over the gum, pull it out and smell it it would literally smell like poo-poo. Flossing in that area and smelling it afterward proved the same.

So, I had x-rays done and three different professionals (my DDS, oral hygienist, and oral surgeon) all agreed it was a pocket of bacteria that had accumulated over the years with stuck food and what not between my impacted wisdom tooth and back molar. Sweet! I was on the road to recovery already by locating the source of my doo-doo breath.