Your Email Address:

First Name:

Why do you think people would lie to you?

Do you have any quesions about bad breath?
sorethroat
Total Newbie

Post by sorethroat »

Hi,

I've had really smelly breath and pain in my throat/esophagus now for almost a year- could be a reflux thing and I've starting on Proton pump inhibitor medication. I discovered this forum yesterday and I think it's great!

I've been thinking about this- why do you think people would lie to you about your breath smelling bad- Seriously-
leaving the qwacks aside trying to sell products and stuff, a medical doctor would have nothing to gain from lying to you, either would a friend or partner. Unless it's like if someone very ugly (and there are very few who are genuinely) asked you if you thought they were ugly, what do you say?

Reading the forum, I've come across many people with stories about people lying to them, despite the reactions they get from say, people on the street or at work, etc.

My experience:

My doctor and partner both said that they couldn't smell anything, but I can smell it myself and other people I socialize with have certainly reacted to it- and I don't mean coincidentally one or two people have touched their noses or taken a step back.

Why would people, especially a doctor, feel the need to lie about this, (especially since it can signify some serious medical conditions...like a lung abscess, collapsed lung, reflux esophagitis, fungal infection, liver failure, diabetes...cancer). Not saying I have or want these conditions, but these are things even the worst doctor knows about, so to smell something and not investigate is really really bad!

Oh- the point was, why do you think people in your life lie to you about if you have bad breath??????

keepthefaith
Total Newbie

Post by keepthefaith »