Your Email Address:

First Name:

Is this really my life?

Tell us your story with bad breath
Colekist
Total Newbie

Is this really my life?

Post by Colekist »

I don't really know where to begin, but maybe the actual beginning is appropriate. I have suffered from chronic bad breath for about 20 years that I know of! When I was about 10 or 11 years old I got a route canal. My mother's insurance only covered the actual procedure and did not cover the cost of the cap. Needless to say...about 5 or 6 years down the line my tooth began to chip and eventually just kinda broke off. When I was about 18....I was talking to a coworker about my chipped tooth and she responded..."So that's why your breath smells sometimes?" I didn't even know to say...so I just said..."I guess so."
I tried to take better care of my mouth right there and then. I met a guy about a year later and two years into my relationship he kept telling me to go the dentist. It still hadn't hit me that I had "chronic halitosis." He just kept telling me that maybe I needed to get my teeth cleaned. I had neglected my cleanings for years...not having insurance and all. (BIg mistake). So here I am still walking around with this bad tooth knowing that it smelled, I would rub my finger on the tooth and then smell it....yuck!