Your Email Address:

First Name:

Stress and Bad Breath

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
JennyWilson
Total Newbie

Stress and Bad Breath

Post by JennyWilson »

You notice the mindset of people who have bad breath and know it, and people who have bad breath and don't know it. Those who know it have stress in social situations bordering on phobia. Your mouth becomes dry and your breath turns almost toxic. But for those who don’t know about their bad breath this social stress is not a problem. This book I’ve been reading suggest a good sized part of the bad breath problem is simply the knowledge or belief of its existence. It says that removing and curing the physical cause of bad breath will only over time (years for some) cure the psychological side of bad breath. It also points out that a person who is not suffering from bad breath will still produce instant bad breath in a high stress situation. It says this is simply from the high stress load causing their mouth to dry out. It really made sense to me so I’m wondering if anyone else feels the same way.
Last edited by JennyWilson on Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NOTANYMORE
Master

Post by NOTANYMORE »

I can attest to this. My long time association with halitosis still affects me even though I am cured of the chronic symptoms. When I am with my wife and kid the thought of Bad Breath never crosses my mind.
However, just today, I was out looking for a new truck and I suddenly found myself becoming very insecure when the salesman asked if I'd like to test drive one. As he went to make a copy of my license, my anxiety slowly ramped up until my saliva turned in to froth. This also happens at work sometimes and almost always in social gatherings of more than a couple people.