First Name:

I See a Ray of Hope!

Tell us your story with bad breath
stinkyrose
Total Newbie

I See a Ray of Hope!

Post by stinkyrose »

Hello fellow stinkies,

I have been very frustrated for a long time - since I was a young child I have been plagued by embarrassment and lack of hope. I have spent money on many products to try and resolve my halitosis, without success...because what i have tried were merely products that mask the problem or do not address the root cause of my symptoms.

Recently i have immersed myself in research, both specifically on halitosis and also on healthier living. I have had blood tests and physical exams that show normal functions. However, i have digestive issues that my doctor generally diagnose as irritable bowel syndrome. I believe that although BB is generally coming from the mouth, our digestive system is interconnected and one cannot treat the mouth exclusively without considering the rest of the digestive tract.

This is what i have learned about myself and digestion in general, which i think is highly connected to my BB:

1. I have trouble digesting food in general. I often find food particles in my stool, and i have alternating diarrhea/constipation...the classic symptoms for IBS. I think this is a sign that my hydrochloric acid level is low. SUPPLEMENTING WITH BETAINE HCL HAS DRASTICALLY IMPROVED MY DIGESTION AND RETURNED MY TONGUE TO A HEALTHY PINK! This supplement must be taken with caution. Only take it if you know you have low stomach acid levels.

2. Drinking green smoothies or green juices will add more vitamins and minerals to your diet, eventually helping you to create more HCL on your own. HCL is important to keep pathogenic bacteria from colonizing in the upper digestive tract, where they do not belong. I believe low levels of HCL was what caused my tongue to be perennially white.