Your Email Address:

First Name:

Try going vegan?

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
shimpu
Total Newbie

Try going vegan?

Post by shimpu »

Hi, I'm new to this site, but just wanted to offer my experiences. It truly breaks my heart to read about some of you younger people at your wits' end with this problem.
I'm pushing 50 now, but suffered in my youth, as now, with this social stigma. My older sister used to tell me that my breath stank of "poo and onions" from the age of maybe 8. I remember my mom asking me almost daily "have you brushed your teeth today?" when we spoke face to face, and, of course, there was always "the flinch", that involuntary recoil when too close to someone. Later, in my teens, the flinch was often accompanied by a strong swearword. After the age of maybe 15 or 16 I began to drink beer, reasoning that if my breath smelled like my dad's when he came home from the pub, it couldn't smell of poo and onions. Thereafter beer became a crutch - I've never had a drink problem, but I also never faced a social situation without a drink.
Anyway, the change came in my early 20s when I turned vegan, for no other reason than concern for animal welfare, And, though "healthy eating" was never my primary concern, my strong beliefs meant that I never, EVER, lapsed from veganism.
And, yes, BB was, at least after a while, forgotten. The only person I ever directly asked was during this 21 year period, who confirmed that my breath was as fresh as a mountain stream! (even after 10 years I still felt that breath paranoia). Let me stress that I never sought to eat healthily, I actively sought out vegan alternatives to sweets, cakes, ice cream, you name it, but I NEVER ate animal products.