Your Email Address:

First Name:

I'm a College Student Dealing with this Condition

Tell us your story with bad breath
fedupstudent92
Total Newbie

I'm a College Student Dealing with this Condition

Post by fedupstudent92 »

Hi everyone. I've been roaming these boards for a while but figured I should finally make an account. I'm a sophomore in college who is very annoyed with this condition. It's not easy when you constantly have to sit near and talk to students and teachers. All I ever think about is "Does my breath stink?" and I observe the reactions of others carefully. I've told my boyfriend to let me know when my breath stinks (luckily he is ok with me having this problem and still loves me). Anyways, I'm going to tell you guys the kind of bad breath I have and the things I've tried to cure it.

My breath only stinks when I exhale out of my mouth. I've never gotten any reactions when breathing out of my nose. There is an exception though. In one class, the girl next to me would always exhale out through her nose really hard (as if trying to blowing away the odor) whenever I would do an inside yawn (my throat and tonsils would flex, but I would keep my mouth closed to not kill anyone in the room). She did this strong exhale every single time I did this inside yawn.

I chew gum constantly to cover up the smell. I've actually had great results with gum. I always chew sugar-free and make sure I'm stocked up on it. I'm pretty sure I just have a bacteria imbalance or something because gum works even when the flavor is gone. I get little to no reactions when I'm chewing it and my boyfriend does not let me know that my breath stinks when I'm chewing it either. I'm guessing the flow of saliva that comes with chewing gum helps to keep the bad breath down.