Your Email Address:

First Name:

My battle with bad breath and social anxiety

Tell us your story with bad breath
Luckyhope
Total Newbie

My battle with bad breath and social anxiety

Post by Luckyhope »

I first got bad breath when I was around 16. I was entering into a new school after dropping out for a yr because of social anxiety. Everything went great. I ate candy and gum to mask the smell. I was the popular girl in school. And all the guys liked me. (well not all of them but you know what I mean) I would get the occasional person asking me if I wanted gum or something but overall people really didn't seem to mind.

Then I moved. When I moved people started noticing my breath more. I worked and went to school though and it wasn't that hard. I was confident. People noticed but it didn't bother me. I chewed gum to help alleviate it but it didn't help. My breath got worse and worse.

Then one day while working a girl that didn't like me said she needs to go in the bathroom and gargle with Listerine for about an hr. I broke down. I quit my job that very day and that's the beginning of a downward spiral that has been going on for 9 yrs.

I started secluding myself and worrying about my breath all the time. I noticed I had a foul odor coming from my wisdom teeth so I got them removed. Then I had tonsil stones and smelly tonsils so I got those removed too. It helped a little but not much. I still have bad breath and now social anxiety. I'm on medication and go to therapy but I still have fear in social situations.

I recently went to this peer run support group for people with mental disorders and it went great. People were nice to me and talked to me the whole time I was there but I kept thinking all they're thinking about is my breath. They never acted like it though. I want to go back but I just cant face the people with this bad breath. I don't know what to do. I know its just my anxiety getting the best of me but I cant help how I feel.