Your Email Address:

First Name:

My road to recovery

Tell us your story with bad breath
Surviving
Total Newbie
My road to recovery

Post by Surviving »

First, let me say I just discovered this board in the past few days. Alot of interesting material I wish i discovered years ago. Anyway, let me sum up what ive gone through and what has helped...so far.
It started in 2006. I was drinking heavily at the time and getting sick(vomiting) on a daily basis. I started to comments on my bad breath then. Nothing gum couldnt cure. Dealt with this. Had tooth decay on a tooth which was removed. No real issues. Fast forward to 2008. I went to an afterwork party on July 4th. Alot of people who i didnt know etc. Suddenly someone shouts out "who shit themselves" and this girl looks at me and points and says it was me. I was so embarrassed, I left. Went to work the next day and noticed people acting weird....then it started. The sniffling, the covering of noses, and again "who farted" comments. Mind you i worked in a financial office in close quarters.
I didnt know what to do or what to make of it. I started wearing heavy cologne and became obsessed with cleaning myself constantly. My thought was "am i not wiping myself properly?" I got hemmorhoid pads and showered 3 times a day. I was so lost....
Then i did research and found maybe it was my tonsils. So i immediately had them removed. I guess it helped but i dont know how much.
I went back to work and still got the same reactions. I became beyond depressed at this point. Ended up quitting my job and not leaving my apartment for a long time. This depression i believe led me into drugs, specifically, heroin. Once i discovered heroin, nothing mattered. I could go out in public and people would make their sniffles and comments and i didnt care.