Your Email Address:

First Name:

Cured after 10 years <Doxycycline>

Tell us your story with bad breath
Gatero
Total Newbie

Cured after 10 years <Doxycycline>

Post by Gatero »

I wanted to always dreamed of doing this post. Hope I am not too early :D. Since it's only been about 10-15 days since I started Doxycycline antibiotic for acne

Just few days after starting the antibiotic, I noticed that there was absolutely no smell anywhere. I couldn't even smell anything by licking my wrist or spoon - which I had always smelled even if I had brushed & rinsed and cleaned tongue for hours.
Now after about 2 weeks, no sign of any smells nor OBVIOUS reactions from people.
Also I haven't had BAD TASTE IN MOUTH for 2 weeks either. (used to happen specially in the mornings)

I can now get "regular" bad breath by eating milk, cheese, candy etc. - but nothing too offensive at all. .
I still have good white coating on my tongue, although it doesn't seem as thick in the back. However, the important part is that IT DOESN'T SMELL

I haven't asked anyone if I even have morning breath, but I dont think so. [my oral hygiene is over-the top, probably just like you]

I will still struggle with halitophobia for a while, though after having chronic halitosis for about 10 years I think it's understandable.

Anyway the advice for you is::::
If you have been to doctors etc. and nothing seems to work BUT haven't tried the antibiotic, try it- it clears many many bacteria infections that u could have in your throat or lungs or mouth. I don't know what chronic infection I had there but it was minor enough for many good doctors to miss it (even with x-rays etc.). No obvious symptoms, nothing has changed my in my life after starting the antibiotic other than the smell & taste is gone.
Worth of noting is that I used to get much worse breath if I had throat infection than normal - so maybe its a clue?