Your Email Address:

First Name:

33, Cursed with BB, Tonsillectomy made it worse!

Tell us your story with bad breath
Pinkyrose
Total Newbie

33, Cursed with BB, Tonsillectomy made it worse!

Post by Pinkyrose »

I was about 20 or so before I went to the doctor after feeling something weird in my throat. It was tonsil stones and I suffered with these and bad breath for many many years. I consistently had tonsils that were stuffed with this foul smelling stuff. I considered getting my tonsils out while I was away at college and I finally had and was required to have health insurance. However, during that first year there was a high profile case of a little girl going into a coma at a local area hospital after awakening from her tonsillectomy. That scared me out of it for many years. In January 2020 I decided to take some action and made an appointment with an ENT and was committed to getting these suckers out and changing my life for the better.
I was on a waitlist to get my tonsillectomy and then the pandemic hit. I did eventually get my tonsillectomy done in August 2020. I anticipated all the things that I could do once I had this procedure that I never had the confidence to do before without great mental turmoil. I could sing a duet at karaoke on one mic, talk loud, whisper closely to someone, makeout with people with joy and pleasure, and finally develop a happy and confident personality that I’ve been robbed of. I thought that most likely the removal of my tonsils would improve things if not solve my problem outright. I even considered the possibility that maybe things wouldn’t really change, but I never guessed that it would make my situation worse. Unfortunately, that’s exactly what happened.