Your Email Address:

First Name:

Halitometer readings

Everything related with bad breath can be found here. Everything about products, research, news about bad breath......
slone
Total Newbie

Halitometer readings

Post by slone »

Hey guys, i intend to find a dental clinic that provides breath reading using the halitometer. I did read up some posts suggesting that it wasn't all that accurate and stuff. Still, i would like to get myself check for severity of the condition before and after a tonsillectomy.

I'd like to check whether anyone here has done the test before and how much does it register for your condition?

Busted
God

Post by Busted »

There's absolutely no point in doing that. It's better to just test on someone. It can show u a number that is supposed to be within the normal range, but unfortenately that does not mean your do not have travelling bb.
Larc400
God

Post by Larc400 »

It's quite a good idea to test before & after tonsilectomy - just make sure you do it under similar circumstances both before and after though (for example first thing in the morning), as the score can change *a lot* depending on what you've eaten, if you've cleaned your mouth etc etc.

Yeah I've had halimeter tests ... different dentists calibrate the machine differently though so there's not much use comparing numbers. Most say offensive bb score above 100. I scored something like 250 most of the time, sometimes dipping down to just below 100.
Busted
God

Post by Busted »

What does someone who does not suffer from bb have then, 0 to 50?

I scored under 100, but it was still bad enough for others to react to it.
emotional rescue
Sheriff

Post by emotional rescue »

I did it a few times, i think it´s a good tool just to take some parameters, but you must do it under the same conditions, like Larc said....

I didn´t know that the machine could be calibrated in different ways,