Your Email Address:

First Name:

Betaine Hydrochloride on my tongue (!!) fights my BB :|

Tell us your story with bad breath
oasis
Total Newbie

Betaine Hydrochloride on my tongue (!!) fights my BB :|

Post by oasis »

I'm a chronic BB sufferer for as long as I can remember (I'm 29 years old and still hanging in there). I had a peritonsillitis behind the right pharyngeal tonsil for ages which didn't reveal any typical symptoms nor give any indications for a tonsillectomy (enlarged tonsils, recurrent infections/sore throat, pain when swallowing, fever, etc.) according to the surgical customs.

BB obviously became much better after I finally had my tonsillectomy (loads of pus came out according to the surgeon) 4 years ago but the problem lingers on till this day. I have tried all kinds of mouthwashes, diets, probiotics, without any significant improvement. A long lasting infection in your throat irreversibly affects the other mucosa in your mouth, a doctor once told me. :(

The one thing that keeps my BB level down is daily use of BETAINE HCL on my tongue. I split the tablets, flush it in water a bit so it starts to dissolve, then I scrape with the flat side of the tablet on my tongue. Bad taste is somewhat relieved after I do this, as is my bad breath.

I've been doing this daily now for almost 3 years. I WARN you that this probably will cause some light bleeding on your tongue the first times you do it (it's highly acid as you understand) as it did for me. I am sure not to do it too much and I have water at hand to quickly neutralize the acid if needed.

After the first couple of times I tried Betaine Hcl on my tongue it stopped bleeding and didn't cause any discomfort whatsoever. I guess my tongue adapted fast (good or bad I don't know).